Facebook: From hesitation to a daily habit

I have been a Facebook (FB) user for the past six years. I go to the platform almost every day. I normally check the news feed twice a day: early in the morning and late in the evening. My FB moments keep me in touch with both face-to-face and distant friends. To me, FB is not a question of liking or disliking the platform, but a daily habit, which I enjoy.

I must admit I hesitated long enough before joining FB on 2 April 2008. There were some reasons that kept me away from the network. Before 2008 I experienced some other online communities with various features. None of them managed to stay alive longer. I thought FB perhaps will have a similar future. I then decided to wait a little bit and see whether the network is going to die or grow and develop.

A look back by Facebook

A look back by Facebook 2014

Going to Facebook is like swimming through two parallel worlds: the world of connections I often see face-to-face and the world of distant friends. I am amazed by the way FB connects my two worlds. On the platform, I communicate with friends including colleagues from primary and secondary schools.

Many of my acquaintances said that they will never join FB for a simple reason: they do not find appropriate to share personal information in a virtual space owned by an American corporation. That is true, but today most of my acquaintances are on FB as they were pushed to register with the service by the communicative trends of the past years.

It is easy to understand how the FB platform works. Its intuitive interface has been the result of many usability exercises. FB, the idea born while trying to connect college students, has evolved and transformed into one of the most popular global platforms.

Unlike Twitter, the FB network settings require reciprocity between two users. It means that, by default, the content published by a user goes automatically into the news feed of his/her friends. Reciprocity is not a Twitter feature. Therefore the two platforms belong to different categories: Twitter is a social media model while FB is a social network model, according to scholars.

Year by year, FB has improved and enhanced its services. Even if there are voices saying that nowadays the users do not share the same enthusiasm, like in the past years, the platform is still growing according to the 2013 statistics published by The Guardian.

Accessing the platform from a desktop computer or a mobile device enables people to communicate instantly. This is my case while I am on my way to the office, on the bus, when FB is an excellent solution to browse through the latest news either from friends or pages I subscribed.

This entry was posted in Social media/networks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Facebook: From hesitation to a daily habit

  1. viorica nastase says:

    Toti adultii cred ca au unul sau mai multe momente de ezitare inainte de ‘a se arunca” in lumea FB. Unii cred ca viata lor privata devine publica. In realitate, fiecare dezvaluie ceea ce vrea si ce crede ca le da ocazia de a stabili o conexiune cu ceilalti: instantanee de ganduri, amintiri, imagini – lucruri care s-ar pierde, altfel.

Leave a Reply

